--2020-06-27

emomuch-2012-01-30

cards-2011-12-08

It all goes downhill from here -2011-12-05

Loco for Morocco-2011-11-14

2011-11-14

Loco for Morocco

I realise I only really update when I am procrastinating from work. Oh well, whatever works.

OKAY so, reading week passed, and I went to, drumroll please.... Moroccooooo!

Yay! This means I have conquered (not really) another continent! Whooo!

So yes morocco. Though its in africa, The culture is very middle eastern. I went to marrakech, fez, and the Sahara. Yes! The desert. We had a 3 day tour thingy that brough us to the sahara and we rode camels and slept in a tent in the desert, and we spent 2 days free and easy.

Morocco is pretty cool. It's a lot like what you would expect, the houses are all sand coloured, square, and all very near each other. The roads and streets are impossible to navigate, and you WILL get lost. Definitely very different from a lot of the other countries I've visited. The touting is also INTENSE- when we were in the night market in marrakech we were literally being pulled in 3 different directions at any one time. And I'm not using the word literally wrongly. It really didn't help we were a bunch of 8 noob chinese people sticking out like sore thumbs. People would actually stop whatever they were doing, look up at us, stare, and then go "konichiwa" or "An nyoung ha seh yo", before finally getting to "ni hao", if at all. In that way morocco definitely felt a bit... dangerous. Haha! But as sporean as we were, we were totally humchee and safe and kept on talking to each other in chinese going "快点走" or "不要在这里买", etc.

Also on our tour thing, we stopped by random fairly touristy places while on the road. So we stopped at some fossil factory place- apparently morocco has a good deposit of fossils (the not very rare types like ammonites and whatnot) and they dig em up to make fancy tables and decorations and stuff. And at this RANDOM place in the middle of nowhere, not even near a semi-large town, we met a singaporean uncle who was trying to import some of these fossil merchandise. WHAT ARE THE CHANCES?! He was very nice and once he knew we were from the Home Country, he brough us to see the back room of fossils where they keep the good stuff. It was just so strange that in the middle of some near-desert of africa, we managed to meet a sporean. Just like how we met my friend's friend at snowdow.

Singaporeans are just too damn well-travelled.

OH HAY PICTURES (note, not my pictures- I did take, but I'm too lazy to upload from my camera ahahaha. So you get my hardworking friend's.)

Photobucket

Photobucket
Apparently they filmed a bit of gladiator here

Photobucket

Photobucket

One more thing about morocco. CATS. CATS EVERYWHERE SO MANY CATS and they are all FLUFFLY AND CUDDLY AND CLEAN AND NICE CAAAAAAATTSSSS

Photobucket
SEE

Photobucket
SEEEE

Photobucket
SEEEEEE?E??!?!?!?!

Photobucket
ONNA CAMEL

Photobucket
LIKE A BOSS.

Photobucket
Sunglasses, because I'm so hipster baby.

Also, after returning from morocco, some of us received a nice little parting gift- a mysterous rash! Of course knowing my luck after chopping a bit of my finger off, I got it the worse and for a while my arms looked like they belonged on some medical magazine or zombie. In any case, no need for concern, I got it checked out and its probably some allergy from bed bugs or camels or something. We did spend a night in the desert in some tent with carpets and blankets laid out- but considering there wasn't any running water I'd reckon they haven't been washed recently. Oh, let and live.

Photobucket

<< ll >>